Federal Court of Appeal

Federal Court of Appeal


Common menu bar

50th anniversary of the Federal Court of Appeal and the Federal Court


Coat of Arms

The Federal Court of Appeal is a bijural itinerant court that hears cases in English and in French in eighteen (18) cities, from Vancouver to St. John’s including locations in the North. The countrywide mission of the Court is intended to ensure that federal legislation is applied in a uniform and constant manner across the country, while taking into consideration the private law in the province or territory where the litigation arises.

The Federal Court of Appeal has jurisdiction to hear appeals from judgments of the Federal Court and the Tax Court of Canada. In addition, the Court has jurisdiction to hear judicial review applications with respect to seventeen (17) federal boards and tribunals listed under section 28 of the Federal Courts Act. It also hears appeals pursuant to a variety of other federal legislation.

The appeals heard by the Federal Court of Appeal deal with issues stemming from complex, specialized and often innovative areas of law. Among other things, the Court has jurisdiction to hear disputes regarding tax law, maritime law, immigration law, Aboriginal law, prison law, social law, aeronautics, intellectual property and national security. It also oversees the largest administrative law caseload in Canada, as the court responsible for the judicial review of the federal administration. The questions of law determined by the Federal Court of Appeal have a major impact on the evolution of Canadian law. In the vast majority of cases, it acts as the final arbiter in cases brought before it.

The Federal Court of Appeal is composed of one chief justice and twelve (12) puisne judges. There are currently eleven (11) full-time judges and four (4) supernumerary judges of the Federal Court of Appeal. The judges of the Court are appointed by the Governor in Council.